mod men

NYFW: Kate Spade + Rebecca Ward Installation.

Posted in Uncategorized by modman on February 23, 2010

Designers arent the only ones who showcase their collections during Fashion Week; retailers and boutique shops feature their creative chops as well. This is especially true for the Rebecca Ward for Kate Spade installation at the flagship store in Soho. The physical retail space was transformed into legit artwork by the acclaimed artist and brought a much needed pop of color to the wintry city.

kate-spade-tape-01.jpg

Imagine this.. fluorescent pink and bright yellow tape all over the place. Not in a messy, prankster kind of way.. no, not at all. Ward used the material to alter the perception of existing space. She created angles where there were none before. She manipulated light to reflect in a calculated way. The architectural approach that Ward uses is fascinating. Google her previous installations and you’ll see what I mean. I cant imagine how much thought, planning, and exact execution goes into her works. But I have no doubt that the end result is that much more rewarding.

I ran over from the Anna Sui show (my last at Bryant Park!) to make sure I was (somewhat) on time for my first ever tape party. The Tape Bar brought back memories of elementary school arts & crafts (now known as DIYs) and I felt my inner child jump for joy.

A Tape Bar (decorating journals & sprucing up outfits) + good music/dj + shopping for/with the lovely lovely20s + meeting the ever beautiful glamourai + mingling, sipping bubbly and nibbling made for a great event. Its inspiring to see the meaningful collaborations that still take place in a time where meaning is sometimes lost in the fast-paced world of ours.

If you’re in the Soho area, do stop by and take a peek. The installation will stick around until July 1 and will add some color to your life. The notebook I decorated at The Tape Bar has helped me get through the day, especially because it reminds me to “Live Colorfully”. And honestly, why shouldnt we?

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. stuyz said, on February 24, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    awesome! so sad i can’t be there to play with the tape bar 😦

  2. crossroadstrading said, on February 25, 2010 at 11:11 am

    Good one-two punch with your blog posts: Color and color, yes please!

    And I really love your photos, they make me wish I’d been there so badly!!

  3. elledee said, on March 1, 2010 at 8:08 am

    so so gorgeous!

    http://www.glammed.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

