mod men

The Passing Of An Icon.

Posted in Uncategorized by modman on February 11, 2010

Fantasy fashion: Last September McQueen sent models down the catwalk in towering 12-inch boots for an ethereal show inspired by Charles Darwin's The Origin Of The Species

This has been covered all day since the news broke at the BCBG Max Azria show at 10am. All I remember seeing were bbs out, screens all a blur, and gasps and silence. News broke that fashion designer icon Alexander McQueen had died, presumably from suicide. This comes as a shock to some but his mothers passing a few days ago is most likely what triggered his tragic death. The twitterverse and blogworlds have exploded about the news and there are endless tweets and posts about it.. this has definitely taken the fashion world by storm.

I write this not because I assume you havent heard (because honestly, who hasnt?), but to reflect on such a enormously creative mind. His designs were beyond imagination and thats what he is most known for.. for pushing the limits and bringing a new sense of what design is to the world. How is it that all of his creations could come from a mind? I truly find God’s gifts to leave me speechless, whatever it is.

“I’m speechless. It makes me ill. If anything positive can come out of this, we should take the moment to appreciate what we have, what we do…I love what I do, and I should be damn appreciative that I can still do it.” – Phillip Lim

Deaths definitely do bring about that sense of uncertainty and “what if” questions. Like Phillip Lim said, it makes me so thankful that I can be a part of the last MB Fashion Week at Bryant Park. And as saddening and tragic as McQueen’s passing is, it wont be in vain. Not only did he leave behind an amazing design legacy but also a much different view of the fashion industry, and on life, that is best exemplified in this quote that has been my apartment wall for a while now.

“I kind of like it the way it is right now, I believe in that one-on-one sell. I don’t really believe in flooding the market with loads of goods that don’t mean much, and (you) lose your identity.” – Alexander McQueen

There is so much that is lost in the business of fashion, especially during difficult times like we’ve been experiencing. It becomes a priority to sell and that takes the drivers seat, sometimes overpowering a designers vision or dream. McQueen stayed true to his imagination and vision and that is the reason why I’ve always been an admirer of his great work. His words are guidance to an ever-evolving industry.

The fashionisto put it best..

“Death must be so beautiful. To lie in the soft brown earth, with the grasses waving above one’s head, and listen to silence. To have no yesterday, and no to-morrow. To forget time, to forgive life, to be at peace.” -Oscar Wilde

https://i0.wp.com/img.thesun.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00985/alexmain_985038a.jpg

Leave a Reply

