mod men

Finally!

Posted in Uncategorized by modman on February 11, 2010

I made it. Its 4.17 ny time and I am at my friends place after a night of.. adventure (or so I like to think). There is so much thats gone wrong but Im here. Lets have a rundown.. just so I can count for myself how many bumps in the road there have been just to get to ny.

I was originally supposed to be on a 9.45 flight last night (Tuesday), which got canceled because of the snowstorm here in ny. I spoke with Kyle (the worst representative ever) and he assured me that there were no available flights until Friday night. Ridiculous much? After an hour and 2 supervisors, someone competent enough was able to get me booked on a Wednesday 1.25 pm flight into JFK. At that point, I was thankful that I could even get on a flight since this snowstorm was/is a pretty big deal.

Wednesday rolls around. 1.25 flight is delayed to 2 pm. 2pm is delayed to 2.30. 2.30 is delayed to 3.10 pm. 3.10 pm is delayed to the final time, 3.55 pm. Well, I got to LAX at 3 pm or so and the security line was ridiculously long.. probably at least an hour. Oh well. Until Virgin said the ny flight was on. I started freaking since I was in back of the line that wrapped around 5 times. Thankfully they called people on the ny flight to the front. I got to cut an hour line plus they opened up another security line right when I got there, so second person in! Score.

I ran to the terminal and after about 40 minutes or so, take off! Four hours later I landed in snowy jfk. After an hour of waiting for luggage, I made my way out into terminal 4 and saw a huge line of taxis. Great. 30 minutes later, still no bus or airport worker/anyone with any information in sight. In that half an hour, 6 private taxi drivers came up to me and wouldnt leave me alone and assured me that $80-90 was the cheapest I could find and that the yellow taxis would cost about the same to get into nyc. Riiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiight. I was just about ready to call it a night and make a bed out of the driving arcade game. I spotted an MTA worker and asked him if there were any buses running. He told me to take the 10 to Kew Gardens and then transfer to the 60 which would take my into the city. Awesome. All for the low price of $2.25.

I waited outside for 20 minutes. The bus stop was under a highway underpass. That wasnt the first thing on my mind until what I thought was hail fell for a good 20 seconds. It wasnt hail. Slush from the highway above. This story just gets even more awesome, doesnt it?

I got on the bus and looked on my google maps. There was a subway stop on 121st street and Jamaica Avenue. I decided against the MTA workers recommendation of going all the way to Kew Gardens to wait for Bus 60 (and he didnt even know if it was running or not). I got to walk down 5 blocks with 100 lbs of luggage, in slush, down the middle of the street. And what does the entrance look like? 3 flights of 20 stairs each. I just wanted to wave a white flag, call it a day and return to sunny LA.

Somehow I mustered just enough to get to the top and got on a J train heading into Manhattan some half hour later. J train transfer to the A train at Broadway Junction. More stairs. A train to 42 street, walked through the terminal to 45th. Instead of waiting for the C or E to get to 50th street, I decided to walk the rest of the way (even though I was so tempted to just take a taxi at that point). Anyways, 2 blocks and 2 Avenues took about 30 minutes to walk, especially with all the ice, snow, slush and wind. I wanted to keel over and wake up from this nightmare.

I am sitting here at 5 am writing this blogpost. I looked through my luggage and cant find my bag with my point and shoot camera, business cards (that I got printed JUST for this), and other items. Another bump.

Reading over this makes me wonder what this is all for. Is this trip worth all the months that I’ve worked to pay for this flight? Is it worth all this effort and headache, frustrations and anger? Is it worth the cold, the chance of getting sick (again)? I have been questioning this trip the whole time since my original flight got canceled. But this is one of those “what if” things that I couldnt pass up. Even if it does turn out to be a bust, at least I know that I tried. And re-reading my “adventures” tonight, I am thankful. There are so many things that could have gone wrong is ways worse than they did. And for all of it, I am thankful.

Not sure if this is coherent. I am exhausted and fairly annoyed that I left my business cards at home.. I need them asap. I will edit in the morning.. if I get up.

Oh, btw, if you couldnt tell, I’m in New York for Fashion Week. Follow me on twitter at mm_modman for #nyfw updates!

_modman.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. SARAH CHA said, on February 11, 2010 at 12:48 pm

    I AM SO SO PROUD OF YOU. Forget about the bumps. Focus on this week and unleash the crazed excitement within you! You have been waiting for this for oh-so long. Accomplish your mission. DO IT.

  2. Sandra Nguyen said, on February 11, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    Congrats, Danny! Can’t wait to hear more about your trip! =)


Leave a Reply

