mod men

The Reign of Tao.

Posted in Uncategorized by modman on January 14, 2010

Vogue Nippon Cover, November 2009

Tao Okamoto is on her way in becoming a fixture in the modeling world according to models.com, and I couldnt agree more. The passing of Daul Kim late last year was extremely upsetting.. she was a rising model representing not only Asia, but South Korea.

Asian models in the fashion industry are inevitably slated as “oriental”. I am not a fan of overly “Asian” looks.. and so I’m turned off by “oriental” styling/makeup. When I came across Daul, her natural look caught my eye instantly. And Tao has done the same, especially since her hairstyle change. I had the pleasure of meeting her backstage at Richard Chai’s show for Spring 2010. She was surrounded by Japanese press but I snapped a shot of her when I got the chance. Here are a few recent editorials and the cover for Vogue Nippon featuring Tao. I am so in love with her look.

Hard to Impress

Hard to Impress

Hard to Impress

I Never Sleep Past Midnight

I Never Sleep Past Midnight

I Never Sleep Past Midnight

I Never Sleep Past Midnight

I Never Sleep Past Midnight

I Never Sleep Past Midnight

The Kiss of Demons

The Kiss of Demons

The Kiss of Demons

The Kiss of Demons

The Kiss of Demons

via. models.com/asian models.
you can find Tao’s blog here : http://ameblo.jp/okamoto-tao/.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Virginia said, on January 15, 2010 at 9:17 pm

    asian androgyny is what comes to mind from these photos — who would have thought it’d look this good

    • modman said, on January 18, 2010 at 1:37 am

      i totally agree. tao just pulls off the look so flawlessly.


Leave a Reply

