mod men

BLOGsearch : The Sartorialist.

Posted in Uncategorized by modman on December 7, 2009

THE Sartorialist - Scott Schuman

Finals week is about browsing and learning anything.. anything and everything BUT the material for classes that is. I was chatting with a friend and we came to the conclusion that during finals week, people know everything about anything recent (ie. the “it” youtube video, spoofs, mvs, and anything Tiger-related) and nothing about their finals (not as much as they should anyway). Reading blogposts or tweets about everything up-to-date is not enough. Students go wayyyyy back to dig up some “oldies but goodies”.

I am guilty of browsing  some archived blogposts of blogs on my blogroll. I decided to start the BLOGsearch addition to modmen. I wanted to share blogs that I find my inspiration from with all of you. The first and most influential blog has been The Sartorialist.

The Sartorialist is a fashion blog by Scott Schuman. He photographs individuals who catch his crafted eye and posts them on his blog. He is known as the pioneer for fashion photography in blogform and also has a monthly page in GQ and is a featured blog for style.com. Scott shares his thoughts on his blog and his initial intentions:

“When I worked in the fashion industry (15 years), I always felt that there was a disconnect between what I was selling in the showroom and what I was seeing real people (really cool people) wearing in real life.”

“I thought I could shoot people on the street the way designers looked at people, and get and give inspiration to lots of people in the process. My only strategy was to try and shoot style in a way that I knew most designers hunted for inspiration.”

Check out his blog for some amazing photographs. He doesn’t just focus on “fashion” or “style”, but he highlights color and other artful elements as well. I hope his photographs inspire you in some way. Happy browsing!

Style Profile...Alessandra Colombo, Milano

On the Street....Rue St. Honoré, Paris, France

On the Street....Carine and Emmanuelle

Leave a Reply

